Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Tourism Guides


Tourist guides must be trained by accredited training providers for their application for registration to be considered. Tourist guides are responsible for verifying the registration status of the training providers before commencement of training.​

A full list of accredited training providers and assessors can be obtained on the Culture Arts, Tourism, Hospitality, and Sport Sector Education and Training Authority (CATHSSETA) website . ​Information about tourist guiding programmes which are recognised by SAQA can be obtained from the SAQA website​ Alternatively, enquiries can be made at the Tourist Guides Registration Offices across Provinces.

Requirements to Register to become a Tourist Guide

Provincial Registrars are appointed in each of the nine provinces to register tourist guides. In order to be registered as a tourist guide in South Africa, a person must meet the following minimum requirements:

  • be a South African citizen or be in possession of a valid work permit;
  • must have undergone training with a CATHSSETA-accredited training provider or any other accredited institution which offers programes recognized by SAQA;
  • be in possession of a valid first aid certificate from institution recognized by Department of Labour;
  • pay a registratio​n fee of R240 (Renewable every 3 years)
  • submit 4 passport-size photos;
  • must submit a completed and signed registration form and the code of conduct and ethics upon registration.

​​​​​Tourist Guide Registrars

The National Registrar of Tourist Guides, in conjunction with the Provincial Registrars, facilitate maintenance of the Central Tourist Guides Register as well as the registration of Tourist Guides at provincial level. In this section, browsers will be able to access the contact details of the National and Provincial Registers.​​​


  • National: National Department of Tourism
    Registrar: Ms. Morongoe Ramphele
    Telephone: (012) 444 6552
    Fax: (012) 444 7090
    Address: Private Bag X 424,Pretoria,0001


  • Eastern Cape: Eastern Cape Parks and Tourism Agency
    Registrar: Mr. Mbulelo Siyo
    Telephone: (043) 364 2570
    Fax: (043) 701 9642
    Address: P.O. Box 18373, Quigney, 5211
  • Freestate: Department of Economic Development, Tourism and Environmental Affairs
    Registrar: Mr. Mfundo Ngcangca (Acting)
    Telephone: (051) 400 9598
    Fax: (051) 400 9590
    Address: Private Bag X 20801, Bloemfontein,9300
  • Gauteng: Gauteng Tourism Authority
    Registrar: Mr. Mbuyi Kona
    Telephone: (011) 085 2101
    Fax: 086 609 3941
    Address: P.O. Box 155, Newtown, 21003
  • Kwazulu-Natal: Department of Economic Development and Tourism
    Registrar: Ms. Peggy Dlamini
    Telephone: (033) 264 9324/(033) 264 9323
    Fax: (033) 264 9300
    Address: 217 Burger Street,Calder Street,Pietermaritzburg, 3201
  • Limpopo: Department of Economic Development, Environment and Tourism
    Registrar: Mr. Moses Ngobeni
    Telephone: (015) 293 8510
    Fax: (015) 291 1085
    Address: Private Bag X 9486, Polokwane, 0700
  • Mpumalanga: Mpumalanga Tourism and Parks Agency
    Registrar: Musa Mahlangu
    Telephone: (013) 759 5487
    Fax: (086) 603 6766
    Address: Private Bag X 11338, Nelspruit,1200
  • North West: Department of Economic Development, Environment, Conservation and Tourism
    Registrar: Adv Makinde
    Telephone: (018) 387 7883/(018) 387 7801
    Fax: (018) 387 7886/(018) 387 7924
    Address: Private Bag X 15, Mmabatho,2735
  • Northern Cape: Department of Economic Development and Tourism
    Registrar: Mr. Andries Mokgele
    Telephone: (053) 830 4875/(053) 830 4881
    Fax: (053) 831 3530
    Address: Private Bag X 6102, Kimberly, 8300
  • Western Cape: Department of Economic Development and Tourism
    Registrar: Ms. Leigh Pollio
    Telephone: (021) 483 8734/(021) 483 9130
    Fax: (021) 483 2957
    Address: P.O. Box 979, Cape Town, 8000